Wingless Sprints are scheduled for the second time this season at Drouin Speedway, at what many consider one of the best times of the season to compete at the track which traditionally runs day shows. With the weather usually not extreme heat, the track settles in nicely and the Wingless Sprints set some of their fastest lap times each season. They will be supported by Standard Saloon, Junior Standard Saloon, Sports Sedans, and Ladies Standard Saloon action.
Kicking off at 11am the Wingless Sprint Gippsland Series round has attracted some extraordinarily strong competitors chasing the series and one of visitors just keen to have a skid that should provide terrific racing. Wayne Logue, Scott Irons, Ricky Mills, and Aron Lawrence whom have been great supporters of Wingless racing at Drouin are in the line up and in with a chance of a victory with some of the states best that include Thomas McDonald, Jake Warren, Angus Hollis, Ben Hodge, Dillon Siely, Todd Moule and Brayden McKay to name a few. Drouin race car owner Travis Evans has Angus Hollis and Todd Moule competing for his race team with Todd being the son of long time Drouin member Tony Moule. Tony’s daughter Jade is also in the field and she and Samantha Millar are keen on get a win in front of the lads.
Jeff Blencowe and Leigh Gooding has been one of the great rivalries over the last half a dozen seasons in Gippsland. In particular at Drouin where both drivers figure strongly in the club championship, the two do not give each other an inch in the quest for honours. They will be matched up with the likes of Ashley and Aaron Cormack, Matt Leek, Kane Gibson, and Owen Cecil as they all seek victory for themselves. Anthony Murray, Andy Evans, Garry Charles, and Mark Sweet also represent the host club on Sunday.
Former club champion in Ladies Standard Saloons Tegan Bullard returns to the track to compete after some time away setting up her family with partner Shane. Bullard will find tough competition from Bree Walker in particular whose been terrific in Gippsland this season whilst Maddison Miles, Tasharni Murray and Melissa Van Strien all Drouin members would like nothing more to get the W.
Having reached the end of the season for many racers in what has been a tough year for everybody who’s feeling the financial pinch, the Sports Sedan numbers are low. However, the competitor between Andrew Dike, Ray Gould, Chris Aarts, Drouin’s Gavan Dorain, and rookie Lachlan Pottage should nevertheless be fierce. Dike is the most talented in the field and it would be a big result for somebody to defeat him.
In Junior competition Ella Sheedy, a winner this season In Standard Saloon Juniors is the standout for victory on Sunday, however Cooper Joynson has had a very consistent season with top five results. Grace Evans and Ashton Joynson both still learning the racing caper are also competing.
Gates open from 8:30am. Racing from 11am
Entry will cost $20 for an adult, aged and invalid Pensioner and Children 12 to 16yrs is $15 and Children under 12 years of age are free. A family ticket for two adults and two children aged 12 to 16 will cost $50.
Track is at 140 Main Jindivick Road, Jindivick.
General enquiries can be made to 0422 289 133.
Drouin Speedway Club acknowledge and thank these wonderful supporters.
Alberni Engineering
ARP Earthworks
Baw Baw Shire
Bowens Pakenham
Bunyip Bakery
Bunyip Motors
Bunyip Tyre Service
Diverse Accounting Service
Drouin Tyre and Battery Service
Elite Cranes and Transport
Image Worx Photography
Keena Fencing
Latrobe Waste and Recycling
Leigh and Anne Gooding
Mepstead Lawyers
Miles Mechanical
Melbourne IT Support
Norstar Steel Recyclers
Napier Photography
Old School Super Store
Pakenham Radiators
QuickTime Automotive
Railway Hotel
Random Panda Photography
Scott Irons
STR8 Bricklaying
TJE Fabrication
TNT Autos
Total Autos Pakenham
Visual Signage Solutions
Wilkar Constructions
James Schneider – Victoria 5
Will Green – VX 7
Wayne Logue – Victoria 16
Jade Moule – Victoria 18
Thomas McDonald – VX 20
Ricky Mills – VX 21
Blake Ross – VX 22A
Angus Hollis – Victoria 30
Michael Loxton – Victoria 40
Glen Harris – VX 44
Scott Irons – Victoria 52
Samantha Millar – Victoria 53
Jake Warren – VX 58
Daryl Coon – VX 60
Aron Lawrence – Victoria 70
Jack Regan – VX 73
Ben Hodge – VX 74
Todd Moule – VX 77
Dillon Siely – Victoria 87
Scott Cole – VX 93
Brayden McKay – VX 92
Jeff Blencowe – Drouin 9
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Justin Cadman – Nyora 12
Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Matt Leek – Drouin 19
Arron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Matthew Bronson – Nyora 21
Owen Cecil – Nyora 30
Kane Gibson – Rosedale 41
Anthony Murray – Drouin 48
Logan Mair – Nyora 61
Andy Evans – Drouin 66
Josh Cormack – Bairnsdale 66
Garry Charles – Drouin 79
Mark Sweet – Drouin 81
Tegan Bullard – Alexandra 4
Maddison Miles – Nyora 12
Maddie Logue – Rosedale 16
Tasharni Murray – Drouin 48
Bree Walker – Rosedale 50
Melissa Van Strien – Drouin 55
Lachlan Pottage – Alexandra 8
Chris Aarts – Nyora 29
Ray Gould – Nyora 37
Andrew Dike – Nyora 37
Gavan Dorain – Drouin 49
Ella Sheedy – Drouin 4
Cooper Joynson – Drouin 6
Grace Evans – Drouin 91
Ashton Joynson – Drouin 99
Written by
Dean Thompson
DMT Sports Media
For Drouin Speedway Club.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *