Sunday the 15th of March at Drouin Speedway fans were provided with not one, not two, they got three big feature events including the Victorian Title for Crash & Bash Sedans, the Mighty Mouse Magic for Mini Sprints & the Warragul Autobarn Open Sedan Slam & there was plenty of action to keep everybody happy & some local Gippsland driver wins.

The Crash & Bash Victorian title final got off to a booming start, with a couple of crashes in the first two attempts taking out plenty of competitors. Craig McKendry was disqualified for crashing a competitor illegally, whilst Adrian Brown, Anthony Sgroi, James Kane & Daniel Jorgen all found themselves unable to continue.

Not long after another crash put Victor Benson out of the event whilst Daniel Wanders completed a dozen laps of the race with no tyre left on the rear left hand side of the car.

At times Jason McKendry was out front, Josh Attewell & then Nathan Taylor & challenges came from Brad Warren in his Panel Van, Peter Cox, Grant Attewell & Rob Disher at stages.

With two laps to go Taylor made a passing move on Josh Attewell & try as he did, Attewell could not bridge the gap and Taylor went on to become the new Victorian Champion defeating Josh, Disher, Cox & Lennie Bonnici.

The Mini Sprintcars competed in the second annual ‘Mighty Mouse Magic’ to honour Colin Lindell a former member of Drouin & competitor of the Mini Sprints. Matt Parsons, Kevin Bomford & Dave May won the three heat race events before the final.

In the final Bomford was left infield with mechanical issues, Victorian Champion Dave May was sent to the rear of the field for causing a stoppage & then stormed back to chase Parsons. Parsons went on to take the win over May & Luke Hickson he made a late race pass on Jason Lynn to pick up third place.

Open VSC Sedan racing were competing in their feature event of the season at Drouin Speedway with local Labertouche racer Joel Andrews sharing heat race wins with Nathan Fawns.

The final had everything with the hard charging Mick Evans slamming into the concrete wall taking him & his V8 Torana out of the event leaving Andrews, Marcus Reddecliffe & Fawns at the front of the field. Eventually the Cortina of Reddecliffe ran its race and headed infield with mechanical concerns and Andrews stormed home to win from Fawns & Andrew Suckling.

In other divisions on race day, Gemma Laidlaw won her first Junior Standard Saloon final, Kasey Ingram won the 1200cc Junior Sedans, Mark Miles won the Standard Saloon final in front of Chris Charles & Jeff Blencowe & Trish Dike won the Ladies Standard Saloon final ahead of Tegan Bullard & Anne Gooding.

Ramsdale Wreckers
Victory Lane Racegear
Drysdale Chaff Mills
Robin Hood Hotel
Glen Cromie Caravan Park
Inaction Photos
TNT Autos
Viking Rentals
Polish & Shine
Warragul Autobarn
Monckton Concrete
Drouin Waste Recyclers
Laser Electrical
Latrobe Waste Recycling

Written by
Dean Thompson
DMT Sports Media
For Drouin Speedway Club

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *