Drouin Speedway held its February race meeting on Sunday the 8th and along with all club classes two big features were scheduled to be completed with the Wingless Sprints in round four of their Gippsland Challenge & the Junior Standard Saloon drivers competing for their Victorian title, unfortunately as it stands, there is only one official winner & that was Tony Moule in the Wingless Sprints.

Overcast weather provided the best conditions for the venue early in the day before the sun kicked in when it reached the afternoon & making the most of the earlier conditions the Wingless Sprints competed in six heat races to set their field for the twenty lap feature event.

Adam Greenwood, Tony Moule, Travis Miller, Kelvin Toogood, Robert Stevenson & Miller again won the six heat events before lining up for the feature.

Moule who had won a Wingless final at Drouin already during the season & was virtually a local with business interests in Pakenham got the best of the start leaping to the front. Initially there was a good queue behind him of seven other drivers as splitting from the bottom half of the field. Lap after lap, Miller & Warrick Taylor were right with Moule working their way ahead with a little distance between them and the rest.

Stoppages due to spins from others & passing moves as Taylor slid back changed the front of the field up a little with Greenwood getting into the battle with Moule & Miller at times.

In the end Moule drove a tactically brilliant race to win from Miller, Greenwood, Paul Drew & Taylor in the Gippsland Challenge round.

The Victorian Standard Saloon Junior title was meant to be the main race of the day & that it was, right up until the feature event. The kids were excellent with six heats completed to that point of the day with club member Ally Morrison winning the very first heat, Donald Young the next the Dylan Pendlebury & Ty Hutton won the second round heats with Cooper Cappellari & Bailey Perkins the last two heats. Six winners in six heats showed how close the drivers were in abilities, it was on paper going to be a great final with Donald Young from the front of the field as top qualifier.

In the feature race, there were crashes, spins, great passing, panel rubbing & stewards’ penalties from the green flag right to the end which was shy of the twenty five scheduled laps. At this point the press has no further information to pass on accept to say that the stewards on the day declared the event with what they believed were official top five placings & that governing body wishes to hold a meeting in order to address various concerns & questions before announcing their position on the race.

Drouin spectators looking for a race result are asked to be patient & await outcomes from the Victorian Speedway Council.

In Open Standard Saloon racing Mark Miles from Pakenham defeated John Dike Jnr & Aaron Price to win the final after Dike, Miles, Travis Evans & Miles again won the four heat races contested.

Ricky Cornwall was a winner on points in the Speedway Sedan Australia Junior 1200cc Sedan division with Luke Dingley & Jack Ramsdale rounding out the top three whilst Peter Angus was too strong in the Division 2 Hot Rods for Daniel Angus & Ricky Low.

In Open VSC Sedans Mick Evans was too strong for Sam Williams & Joel Andrews with Tracey Ingram defeating Trish Dike & Tegan Bullard in Ladies Standard Saloons.

Racing returns to Drouin Speedway Club on March the 15th with the Victorian Crash & Bash state title & a feature for Open VSC Sedans.

Ramsdale Wreckers
Victory Lane Racegear
Drysdale Chaff Mills
Robin Hood Hotel
Glen Cromie Caravan Park
Inaction Photos
TNT Autos
Viking Rentals
Polish & Shine
Warragul Autobarn
Monckton Concrete
Drouin Waste Recyclers
Laser Electrical
Latrobe Waste Recycling

Written by
Dean Thompson
DMT Sports Media
For Drouin Speedway Club

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.